The Blasket Islands - Na Blascaodaí
In the 1920s and 1930s the Blasket Island writers produced books which are deemed classics in the world of literature. They wrote of Island people living on the very edge of Europe, and brought to life the topography, life and times of their Island. They wrote all of their stories in the Irish language.
Sadly, the Blasket Island community declined as a result of the persistent emigration of its young people, until eventually the Island was abandoned in 1953 when only 22 inhabitants remained.
The Great Blasket Island remains uninhabited today, but visitors can travel by ferry over to this remote and wildly beautiful place and spend several hours or all day marvelling at its natural beauty and what remains of years of human endeavour.
The Blasket Centre / Ionad an Bhlascaoid Mhóir in Dún Chaoin celebrates the story of the Blasket Islanders, the unique literary achievements of the island writers and their native language, culture and tradition.Situated on the tip of the Dingle Peninsula it is a fascinating heritage centre/museum honouring the unique community who lived on the remote Blasket Islands until their evacuation in 1953.
ÁISEANNA / FACILITIES
- Comprehensive exhibition including major artworks
- Documentary Film, ‘Blasket Heritage’, in 7 languages
- Interactive touchscreens, information panels and videos
- Exhibitions on traditional fishing & farming methods, daily life and Blasket literature
- The American Room dedicated to the Blasket emigrants who settled in America
- Detailed information on the Irish language
- Guided tours and local information available from our highly trained & friendly staff
- Well-stocked bookshop operated by ‘An Caife Liteartha’
- Restaurant overlooking the Blasket Islands
end March - end October
Open daily from 10.00 hrs to 18.00 hrs. (last admission at 5.15pm)
Sunday 11am - 6pm